Book Reviews – February 2022

Ad | Some books were gifted in return for a review – marked * | All opinions are my own | Affiliate links included in this post

I don’t have many reviews for you today – after an amazing start (see below) I have been a bit slow with reading and have a few books on the go, most of which are unfinished still! I have had a busy month with uni work which has taken up a lot of my time and while recovering from my eye surgery, am still struggling to read for extended periods.

Photo by George Milton on Pexels.com

Missing Presumed Murdered

Cases of Convictions Without a Corpse

by Dick Kirby

The Blurb

Murders in any form, and the more gruesome the better, hold a morbid fascination to the British public but never more so than when the bodies of the victims are never found. Aside from the lack of closure for relatives and friends, this factor creates problems for police and prosecutors and has macabre appeal for the public.

Muriel McKay, wife of a senior News of the World Executive was kidnapped in 1969. Although her body, believed to have been fed to pigs, was never found, the perpetrators were convicted. The same fate was suffered by the business partner of a Polish farmer. James Camb murdered a glamorous actress feeding her to sharks but this did not stop women flocking to see him in court. John Haigh confessed to disposing of his nine victims in acid. Again, his trial was a sell-out.

Dick Kirby, former Scotland Yard detective turned best-selling crime writer has ‘unearthed’ a fascinating collection of disappearances such as the dismemberment of a gay man’s wife who had threatened to expose him in the 1950s. Later, when a woman’s head was discovered near his home, he confessed only to find that it dated from Roman times. These and numerous other cases make Missing, Presumed Murdered a riveting, if grisly, read.

What I Thought

Anyone who knows me will know I am a huge true crime fan, so this book was right up my street!

Unfortunately, I didn’t love it. I found the first few cases interesting, although many happened a very long time ago, but I lost my way with it a bit when we came to the last case which was covered extensively over a number of chapters. I don’t feel that it read well, seeming more like a step by step account in a report, rather than written for the readers of this type of book.

While I still read to the end, it was merely to find out the outcome of the case, rather than because I was enjoying the read.

Where To Buy

Pre-order on Amazon – Hardcover or Kindle

Little Nothings

by Julie Mayhew

The Blurb

Tensions between friends spiral towards disaster in this thrilling novel set on a luxury Greek resort, perfect for fans of Adele Parks, Louise Candlish and Liane Moriarty.

With friends like these, who needs enemies?

Liv Travers never knew real friendship until she met fellow mums Beth and Binnie. The three women become inseparable as they muddle through early parenthood together.

Then along comes Ange… Ambitious, wealthy and somehow able to do it all.

Under Ange’s guiding presence, the group finds new vigour and fresh aspirations – bigger houses, better schools, dinners at exclusive restaurants. But Liv can’t keep up and is increasingly edged out.

When the four families take a three-week trip to a luxurious holiday resort, Liv seizes the opportunity to reclaim her place at the heart of the group, only to discover the true, devastating cost of a friendship with Ange.

Set over the course of a single, life-changing trip to a Greek island paradise, Little Nothings is a sly, suspenseful novel about female bonds turned toxic, and the desperate ends one woman will go to keep her friends close – and her enemy closer.

What I Thought

What a read to start the year with! I devoured this in just a few days – not the easiest thing to do when you have just had eye surgery but I did not want to put it down!

The characters are all really well written and the plot well observed – how our need for friendship and the ‘perfect life’ can become an obsession to the point of bang toxic. The relationships and interactions between the women are so realistic and I wasn’t sure who to trust and where my sympathies lay at times.

Julie Mayhew was compared to Liane Moriarty in the blurb which was one thing that attracted me to this book, and this comparison is entirety justified. I loved her writing style, which left me relating to the women and their relationships, but with a really dark and chilling undercurrent that stays with you long after you finish reading. I will definitely be looking out for more from her in the future. Compulsive reading, you won’t want to put it down!

Where To Buy

Pre-order from Amazon – Hardcover or Kindle

Space Detectives

by Mark Powers & Dapo Adeola

The Blurb

About to CRASH into the MOON?

You need the SPACE DETECTIVES! [maybe we can have little pics of them either side with arrows that say these guys! What do you think?

Connor and Ethan are spending their summer holidays aboard the world’s first orbiting city, Starville (basically Beverley Hills in space!). The amazing space station is bursting with celebrities and the mega-rich. But Connor and Ethan are too busy selling ice cream to see the sights.

However, neither of our heroes can resist a mystery and when they discover the space station is hurtling on a collision course with the moon (eep!) they know they need to step in. This is a case for the SPACE DETECTIVES!

Can Connor and Ethan find the culprit and save Starville from its impending doom?

What I Thought

This was mine and Riley’s first bedtime book of the year and it didn’t disappoint. Riley couldn’t wait to read more every night which I think says a lot about his feelings about it!

The two main characters were fun and well written, each with different personalities and traits. There were great illustrations and the dialogue was perfect for the recommended age group. The author invented a world full of aliens that me and Riley both loved hearing about – especially the names – which along with the illustrations, bought the story to life.

Lots of fun and humour – this will be a hit if you have little ones who enjoy a chapter book that isn’t too long.

Where To Buy

Buy from Amazon – Kindle, Paperback or Audible

Hopefully, next month I will pick up the pace and my eyes will get sorted which will definitely make reading easier! Have you read anything amazing this month? If so, please let me know in the comments, I love to hear your recommendations!

Take care and have a great month,

One Comment on “Book Reviews – February 2022

  1. Pingback: Blog Tour Book Review – The Night Shift by Alex Finlay – The Spoonie Mummy

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: