Christmas Book Reviews

Ad | Contains gifted items and affiliate links

So it is December and it was only right to review some Christmas books for you this month! At least one of these I read in the Summer which was pretty strange – all in the name of the blog of course!

One Week ‘Til Christmas by Belinda Missen

The Blurb

Two people. One chance meeting. Seven days to Christmas.

Isobel Bennett is waiting for the number 11 bus when a man quite literally falls into her lap. Snow is falling, Christmas lights are twinkling, and a gorgeous man with dark brown hair has just slipped on ice and is now pressed against Isobel.

Isobel knows she’s not imagining the chemistry between them. But then his ride arrives and, embarrassed, he beats a hasty retreat, murmuring apologies – and Isobel realises only too late that she didn’t manage to catch his name…

When she runs into him again the next morning, she decides it’s fate.

It’s a second chance for Isobel and Tom – but there’s only one week until she’s leaving London for good. Seven days of enjoying all the festive delights the city has to offer: ice-skating at Somerset House, mulled wine on the Southbank, Christmas shopping at Liberty.

There’s magic in the air and mistletoe in the trees – but what will happen when the week is over?

For fans of Josie Silver, Lucy Diamond and Marian Keyes, this is one Christmas romance you don’t want to miss!

What I Thought

I described this to Ste as like one of those cozy Netflix Christmas films, and that is the perfect desceiption!

I really loved the mentions of London and recognising places I had been and the character of Isobel was warm and likeable. The book is quite fast paced in relationship terms and you do have to just let yourself go with it – for a romantic like me this wasn’t difficult!

A perfect Winter read for all fans of rom-coms, this book was like a lovely warm hug to read before bed.

Where To Buy

An Almost Perfect Christmas by Nina Stibbe

The Blurb

‘This book is the seasonal garnish we all need’ Observer

“My mother is not a foodie. But for as long as I can remember, once a year, she becomes possessed of a profound and desperate need to serve up a perfect roast turkey. Faced with a walk into the village though, she might think ‘oh, f*** it’ and decide to get a frozen one from Bejams on the 23rd and leave it to defrost in the downstairs toilet for not quite 48 hours.”

From perennially dry turkeys to Christmas pudding fires, from the round robin code of conduct to the risks and rewards of re-gifting, An Almost Perfect Christmas is an ode to the joy and insanity of the most wonderful time of the year.

What I Thought

I really enjoyed this festive ode to the craziest time of the year! Most of the family anecdotal stories were full of fun and very heartwarming – some occasionally fell as little flat.

I am sure many will relate to the tales of crazy family Christmases recounted in this book. The book inspired my own walk down Christmas memory lane which was lovely at this time of year.

Where To Buy

The Santa Claus Chronicles – Heartwarming Tales from a Real-Life Santa by Dan Short

The Blurb

Santa Dan’s Stories Will Soothe Your Soul  
 
Thirty years ago, Dan Short left the corporate world to follow a calling—to give the gift of God’s love to children and adults alike. How did he do it? By becoming Santa Claus, of course!
 
These are “Santa Dan’s” tales of hope and humor, collected from his three decades of playing Jolly Old Saint Nick. And as you might have guessed, Santa has his share of stories to tell—some tearful, some joyful, and all of them filled with heartwarming Christmas spirit.
 
You’ll meet some of the unforgettable people Santa Dan has encountered… Anna, a young cancer patient whose fulfillment of her dying wish becomes a life-changing experience for those around her.Rose, an elderly woman with a longstanding grudge against Saint Nick.Terry, a precocious boy with more moxie than clothing.Front Yard Santa, a neighborhood icon whose passing prompts a poignant gesture from a fellow Santa.Faith, Hope, and Grace, three enterprising young girls whose overwhelming generosity befits their virtuous names. 

…and you’ll be inspired to share the joy of Jesus with those around you!

What I Thought

This was my Christmas book of 2019 – and it is the one I read in the middle of Summer! It absolutely filled my heart and warmed my soul.

Santa Dan is the type of Father Christmas you hope to visit with your children, a genuinely kind, good man with a passion and love for what he does. He lives his life with the compassion ad kindness he shopws to so many at Christmas the while year through.

I absolutely loved this and definitely recommend it to all as a perfect Christmas read that will make you smile.

Where To Buy

Winter Tales – An Original Sinners Christmas Anthology by Tiffany Reisz

The Blurb

Return to USA TODAY bestseller Tiffany Reisz’s Original Sinners series with WINTER TALES, a collection of three fan-favorite Christmas novellas plus a brand-new novella exclusive to this anthology.

In DECEMBER WINE, the long-awaited story of Nora Sutherlin’s first meeting with Nico can finally be told. Nora enlists her editor (and sometimes lover) Zach Easton on a mission to track down Kingsley’s long-lost son. Nicolas “Nico” Delacroix turns out to be young, strikingly handsome, and very French. He wants nothing to do with his father…but everything to do with Nora.

This special holiday-themed collection also includes the novellas POINSETTIA, THE CHRISTMAS TRUCE, and THE SCENT OF WINTER (previously available only as ebooks). A bonus short story starring Søren rounds out the WINTER TALES anthology.

What I Thought

Well… you may have noticed the word ‘sinners’ in the title – I didn’t! I saw the cover, I noticed the words Christmas and anthology and requested it! You can imagine the slight surprise I got on reading it!

After the initial shock though, I really did enjoy the read. It is steamy but there is also a great story to back it up, one which keeps you intrigued and interested throughout. The characters are all great and well written about.

Not quite what I expected but turned out to be a pleasant surprise and a very good read! Think 50 Shades but 100 times better!

Where To Buy

Well, I do hope you have enjoyed a run down of my festive reads. Which one tickles your Christmas bells the most? Let me know in the comments below!

Thank you to NetGalley for my copies of these books. I received them for free in return for my honest review. All opinions contained in this post are my own.

Affiliate links do not affect your purchase in any way when used but do earn the blog some pennies so thank you if you use them.

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.